Rio Tinto

geneviève_latour_riotinto2017

 Geneviève Latour
General Manager, Communities and Communications, Aluminum
Rio Tinto

 

 

 Dear Participants,

On behalf of Rio Tinto, it is my pleasure to welcome you to this fourth edition of the Convention, bringing together education actors from all walks of life and whose goal, and how important, is First Peoples academic success.

As a partner since the beginning, we have seen the Convention evolve and grow and saw its impact, both during the activity as with the publication of each subsequent journal. This convention is a unique opportunity for the various actors present, including teachers, researchers, managers and students, to come together and share their best practices, to discuss challenges, but also the successes dotting the academic careers of Indigenous students.

This year’s theme, Further Together, is particularly relevant to me because it expresses a unifying vision in which everyone must make an effort for the good of the community. This is also what we want to accomplish: working hand-in-hand with the organizations in the field to fulfill our commitment to two of the most important elements of our community partnership strategy in Canada: namely education and support to First Peoples.

We sincerely believe that whenever a young person finds the path of academic success, it is the whole of society that benefits from it.

Thank you for contributing to the success of our youth and have an excellent convention!

Mot de Rio Tinto

geneviève_latour_riotinto2017

Geneviève Latour
Directrice générale, Communautés et communications, Aluminium
Rio Tinto

 
Chers participantes et participants,

Au nom de Rio Tinto, je suis très heureuse de vous souhaiter la bienvenue à ce 4ecolloque qui réunit des acteurs du domaine de l’éducation de tous les horizons et dont le but ultime, et combien important, est la réussite scolaire chez les Premiers Peuples.

Partenaire depuis les débuts, nous avons vu le colloque évoluer et grandir et constaté son impact, autant lors de l’activité qu’avec la publication de chaque revue subséquente. Ce colloque est une occasion unique pour les divers intervenants présents, tant enseignants, chercheurs, gestionnaires et étudiants, de se rassembler et de partager leurs meilleures pratiques, de discuter des défis mais aussi des succès qui parsèment le parcours scolaire des étudiants autochtones.

La thématique de cette année, Cheminer ensemble pour aller plus loin, m’interpelle particulièrement car elle exprime une vision rassembleuse, où chacun se doit de faire des efforts pour le bien de la collectivité. C’est aussi ce que nous souhaitons accomplir, travailler main dans la main avec les organismes présents sur le terrain afin de concrétiser notre engagement envers deux des plus importants éléments de notre stratégie de partenariat avec les communautés au Canada, soit l’éducation et le soutien aux Premiers Peuples.

Nous croyons sincèrement que chaque fois qu’un jeune retrouve le chemin de la réussite scolaire, c’est toute la société qui en sort grandie.

Je vous remercie de contribuer au succès de nos jeunes et je vous souhaite un excellent colloque!