2017-2018 Winners

The School Perseverance Scholarships were created to acknowledge the efforts, enthusiasm, and perseverance of First Peoples students. They reward the efforts of Secondary 4 and 5 students from the public-school system.

With the creation of the School Perseverance Scholarships, the Centre des Premières Nations Nikanite of UQAC and its partners, the RBA Foundation, the Jasmin Roy Foundation, Path of the Thousand Dreams (Puamun Meshkenu) and Desjardins, wish to acknowledge and support the students of First Peoples as they embark on the final stage leading to their high school graduation.

Once again, this year, we received many applications from young candidates whose journeys are all more than inspiring. We are touched to witness the perseverance and involvement of these students, and to see the support afforded by the different actors of the education community around them, teachers and professionals, as well as parents.


Céline Tukalak, Inuit Nation (Puamun Meshkenu Scholarship)
Délya Gamelin-Rainville, Abenaki Nation (RBA Foundation Scholarship)
Destiny Katsitsatekanoniahkwa Lazore-Whitebean, Mohawk Nation (Jasmin Roy Foundation Scholarship)
Julie-Anne Dominique, Innu Nation (Jasmin Roy Foundation Scholarship)
Maude Parent, Huron-Wendat Nation (RBA Foundation Scholarship)
Rose-Aimée Papatie, Algonquin Nation (Desjardins Scholarship)
Travis Flamand Petiquay, Attikamek Nation (RBA Foundation Scholarship)
Trevor Cooper, Cree Nation (Jasmin Roy Foundation Scholarship)

Congratulations to the honourees, but also to all those who applied and, above all, may you all persevere along the path of academic success!